jump to navigation

The Modern Baker Challenge November 12, 2010

Posted by gaaarp in Uncategorized.
trackback

This is the home page for the Modern Baker Challenge, a group dedicated to the daunting task of baking every recipe in The Modern Baker by Nick Malgieri. That’s nearly 150 recipes.

The Challenge group is forming now, and we plan to start baking around the beginning of April. That will give people time to get the book and start reading the introductory chapters.

Check out the About link at the top of the page for more information and a link to the Google group.

Some people (me included) plan to blog about their adventures. Others are just going to bake along. Feel free to join in anytime.

Comments»

1. Bratts29 - January 3, 2012

I am so excited to have found this blog! I have had the book for a long time now and bake from it often! Just posted about one of my favorite recipes!

http://doubleshotofexpresso.blogspot.com/2012/01/cocoa-banana-muffins.html

I dded your link!
Good luck and I will be stopping by!
Bratts

2. Julie - May 19, 2010

I made my first recipe last weekend, Chocolate Spice Bread. I will be posting soon. I will link up when I do.

Also, I just heard on Martha Stewart Living Radio that Nick Malgieri is the guest on Everyday Food tomorrow! I will have to miss it because of work but if anyone gets the chance to listen, it would be interesting to know what he said.

3. Heather - May 1, 2010

This looks so fun! Please count me in…I will order the book today. So excited to be part of a cooking club from the beginning (well almost…I will have to wait for the book to get here first!)

Heather - May 1, 2010

Whoops, it’s Heather again (see my previous comment). My blog is:

http://tease-spoonofsugar.blogspot.com/

As I said, please count me in.

4. gaaarp - April 8, 2010

When you manage a blog, you can tell how many visitors you get, where they come from, what search terms they used to find you, and what pages they visited. Unless they leave a comment and identify themselves, however, you never know who they are.

I do know one person who visited this site yesterday. His initials are NM, and he’s really impressed by what we’re doing. He even offered to answer questions we may have. I think maybe we’ll do a Q&A somewhere down the road — perhaps after we finish the quick breads section.

Keep up the good work!

5. sallybr - April 6, 2010

I am really tempted, since this seems to be at a slow pace, and I could bake just a few of the recipes. I don’t have the book, though…. yet… ;-)

gaaarp - April 6, 2010

I added you to the Blogroll. There are only two more recipes to claim in the Quick Bread section. But no pressure. ;-)

6. astheroshe - April 3, 2010

Welsh Scones –done!!!! see my blog! LOOL

7. ap269 - April 1, 2010

It’s April 1st – let’s get started ;-)

gaaarp - April 1, 2010

Here, here! Sara is supposed to put up her Fennel Fig & Almond post today. And I’m going to bake Chocolate Spice Bread this evening or tomorrow. I will probably write the blog on it this weekend.

8. Abby - March 22, 2010

I’m in! Getting ready to order the book . . . . I may go slowly in the quick breads section as I finish my last breads in the BBA Challenge. Looks like fun! =)

gaaarp - March 23, 2010

Welcome, Abby! I have baked a few of the quick breads, and they are just that — quick. You could easily knock off several in one weekend. In fact, I will probably bake some of them together so I can compare them.

ap269 - March 23, 2010

Hey, this is going to be fun! Mellow Baker, Modern Baker…. ;-)

9. astheroshe - March 20, 2010

look like fun…:)

10. loneilteaches - March 17, 2010

Count me in – ordering the book now…Looking forward to more baking, not that I need a reason.

11. AnneMarie - March 15, 2010

Count me in. Beautiful book

12. Kayte - March 12, 2010

I’m in. Keep me posted. Will go along with you and bake in order. May not hit all of them, but will try my best to hit majority. Thanks for offering the opportunity.

13. Nicole - March 12, 2010

I’m not positive that I’ll be able to start at the exact same time as you guys since I’m moving to a new city at the beginning of April, but I’ll join in when I can! :-)

gaaarp - March 12, 2010

We’ll be here! I hope your move goes smoothly. We’ll be baking quick breads until the end of June, so jump in anytime.

14. grongar - March 12, 2010

I am still thinking about it. I like the idea of doing as many recipes as you want per section b/c I’ve got a crazy few months coming up and won’t necessarily be able to bake every week. But really want to make many things in that book because they are drool worthy!

gaaarp - March 12, 2010

I think for some of the recipes, especially in the quick bread section, it wouldn’t be too hard to knock out two at a time. And the recipes mostly yield one loaf or 12 muffins, so you won’t be overrun with goodies.

15. Sara - March 12, 2010

Great idea. Question–do we participate at our own pace, or is the idea to hit certain deadlines? (I ask because my due date for my second child is April 1st!)

gaaarp - March 12, 2010

Sara, my idea is to tackle each section of the book in order and spend 3 months per section. During that time, you can bake as many of the recipes as you want and are able to. I plan to bake them all in order (a la BBA Challenge), but I would encourange people to participate even if they can’t hit every recipe.

Sara - March 15, 2010

OK, as I have “tweeted”; we are in.

16. ap269 - March 12, 2010

Just got the book in the mail and looked through it a little bit: what an AMAZING book. I know already that I’ll love it!

17. ap269 - March 12, 2010

You can count me in. My copy of the book is on the way. Looking forward to being a part of this challenge from the beginning on ;-)))))


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

